Every Day Firm For Every Day People

TPS protects vulnerable international citizens

On Behalf of | May 3, 2022 | Uncategorized |

The US has thrown a lifeline to thousands of immigrants who have come to Texas and other American states looking for refuge. Through its Temporary Status Protection program (TPS), these internationals have been able to elude dangerous conditions in their countries that could have ended their lives. Natural and unnatural disasters such as Wars, gang violence and political persecution are but a few of the justifications for granting TPS status.

A shelter from life’s storms

As its name indicates, TPS affords protections to eligible international citizens on a temporary basis. Those upon whom TPS status has been conferred are able to live and work in the US for 6, 12 or 18 months. They are not subject to deportation during their TPS tenure but the applicant should not be removable during the application process. However, certain types of criminal activity may block a person’s bid for TPS designation. While an international can change his temporary status to other status adjustments such as that of marriage or asylum, he cannot apply to become a permanent resident based on his TPS status.

Prior to the expiration date of their allotted time, grantees can request a renewal. Additionally, if the TPS program has been extended for certain countries, recipients must apply for this renewal. If the recipient fails to do so, he is subject to deportation as an undocumented immigrant.

Good news on the horizon

Due to ongoing conflicts and other hazardous conditions, the TPS program has been renewed for several countries. Additionally, more countries have been added to the list of eligible participants. Internationals can apply from within or without the US.

The Secretary of Homeland Security selects the countries that are TPS eligible. The agency also removes countries as conditions change and threats are removed. The US now welcomes Afghanistan, Cameroon and Ukraine into its TPS program. Extended protections have been granted to Burma (Myanmar), Haiti, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.